A pretty long while back, I went to a store that sold many items that were imported from China. There was an interesting device that caught my eye; a small radio! This model is labeled the WAXIBA XB-895REC! I thought it was pretty neat and I liked the shape of it as well and ended up buying it. You may have noticed from my Slush character design that he's also equipped with a radio as well! I had based his device off this!

Upon observing, there seems to be a lot of features on this item than I thought. We have the general radio scanning features such as the tuning and station options. There also seems to be a flashlight, a usb/sd/charging slot as well as an MP3/bluray feature. Though it needs a battery to operate, apparently you can also add in a rechargeable battery and let it charge through the charging slot. I'm guessing this was a radio used for camping, traveling and such. Honestly, this was the first time I ever saw this kind of device, I felt this would be convenient and nice for a trip.

Generally, the audio quality of this device is pretty rough. But I wasn't really expecting high quality especially on this type of small device. I still liked to use it to play music off my phone or computer because sometimes I like to hear the music in that type of quality.

Oh, I also noticed there's not 2 but 3 types of radio signal options on the device! I've only ever been familiar with FM/AM but there seems to be an SW as well! Curiously, I tried to look up about it. SW seems to stand for Short Wave. And according to some of the articles I read, it seems to be used for international purposes wether it be news, variety talks, and entertainment. As I searched through for a radio station, there seems to be mostly nothing but white noise. That was until I came across one particular station that I was able to hear slightly clearly. As I kept listening to it, a variety of different recordings were played. At one point, I would hear prayers, then a foreign song, then a speech, then an english song. I found it really fascinating!

I wondered to myself. Why is like that? I got more curious and looked up the station. Turns out it was some sort of international station that lets people pay to have their recordings played on their station. I didn't even know people could do that! It was very interesting. I wonder how many people out there listen to SW stations? I might start tuning in more as well.

Anyways, that concludes my pointless ramble for the day. I said I'd post this soon but I kept forgetting!! I'm not a huge radio nerd so I apologize if I seem very ignorant haha. This was all very new and fascinating to me. See ya!